The Roswell Award & Women Hold Up Half the Sky

The Roswell Award
for original short science fiction by writers from around the world

Readings & Awards Presentations at LitFest Pasadena on Saturday, May 18, 2019 at 4:30-6:30pm Pasadena Playhouse, 39 S El Molino Ave

Actress Allison Scagliotti (STITCHERS) Reads at The Roswell Award

The Roswell Award for short science fiction by adults is an international competition presented by Light Bringer Project and Sci-Fest L.A. It inspires and nurture the talent of up and coming science fiction writers. Over five years, submissions have come from dozens of countries including Malawi, Ethiopia, Singapore, Brazil, Germany, Sweden, Canada, Australia, India, Pakistan, England, America, Kazakhstan, and others. At LitFest Pasadena on May 18, 2019 at 4:30pm, celebrity guests will read the finalists’ and Women Hold Up Half the Sky Award winner’s stories, and the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners will be announced.

Guest Speakers

The Women Hold Up Half the Sky Award
presented by Artemis Journal and the Hollywood Chapter of the National Organization for Women (Hollywood NOW)

This special award, presented during The Roswell Award Readings & Awards at LitFest Pasadena, recognizes a science fiction story that embraces feminist themes and has a strong female protagonist. The winning story will be published both by Artemis Journal and Hollywood NOW, and will be read aloud on stage by a celebrity guest.

Congratulations to The Roswell Award Finalists and Honorable Mentions and The Women Hold Up Half the Sky Award Winner 2019!

Roswell Award Finalist Judges

Tananarive Due, Novelist
Rose Eveleth
Brian Evenson
Ben Loory, Novelist
Sherri Smith, Novelist

Women Hold Up Half the Sky Award Judges

Cherise Yanit-Nadal
Kate Sanchez
Karen Eyres
John Erickson
Zoe Nicholson
Heather Lyons
Elizabeth Wong
Cassandra Lane

Roswell Award First Round Judges

Rachel Branwen
Shawn Thrasher
Jameson Rohrer
Carrie LaFerle Gergely
Vanessa McGrady
Michael Paul Gonzalez
Meredith McGowan
Julie Ganis
Katie Rose McEneely
Jack Hovakimian
Llyr Heller
Xach Fromson
Michaela Daly
Laura McMahon
Heather Dever
Erik Jackiw
Michael Blaha
Martin Gantman
Charmetria Marshall
Costa Singer
Daryl Maxwell
Dori Meyer
Jennifer Woodson
Jade Alburo
Sigrid Hudson
Lillian Diaz-Przybyl
Steven Calcote
Sarah Lejeune
Julia Glassman

Organizing Board

Lisa Beebe
Michael Blaha
Jennifer Brody
Thomas Coston
Griffin Davis
David Dean Bottrell
Rosalind Helfand
Patricia Hurley
CB Lee
Celeste Martinez
Joaquin Peres
Corey Roskin
Lauren Salerno
Jeff Sweat

Competitions Intern: Samuel O’Brien